Tri-Co Political Theory Workshop

The Tri-Co Political Theory Workshop is a faculty forum to discuss new work in all types of political theory, political philosophy and related fields in the humanities and social sciences. The workshop combines faculty and resources from Haverford, Swarthmore and Bryn Mawr, as well as other faculty in colleges and universities in the wider Philadelphia region, to create a thriving venue for developing new research. The workshop’s long-term goal is to strengthen the political theory community in the Tri-College consortium, and to foster high-quality scholarship that has an impact well beyond it.

Hereford mapamundi

The Workshop meets on selected Tuesdays and Thursdays during the semester (generally every other week). Papers are distributed in advance and participants are expected to come prepared to discuss them.

The workshop is organized by Paulina Ochoa Espejo (Haverford) and Joel Alden Schlosser (Bryn Mawr). Please email one of us to join our mailing list.

Our work is sponsored by a Mellon Tri-College Faculty Forum Program.

2018 - 2019 Schedule

  • October 18 - October 20: Association for Political Theory Conference at Bryn Mawr and Haverford. View details »
  • November 13: Matthew Landauer (University of Chicago) at Bryn Mawr
  • December 13: Rafael Khachaturian (Penn) at Haverford
  • February 28: Ayten Gundogdu (Barnard College) at Haverford
  • March 19: TriCo Ethics, Politics and Economics Lecture; Rahel Jaeggi, (Humboldt University, Berlin) at Swarthmore
  • March 28: Cara Nine (University College Cork) at Haverford
  • April 11: Margaret Kohn (University of Toronto) at Haverford
  • May 16: Paulina Ochoa Espejo (Haverford College) at Haverford

2017 - 2018 Schedule

  • September 21 – Vincent Lloyd, Villanova
  • October 13 – Joel Schlosser, Bryn Mawr; Book Manuscript Workshop
    With Rosaria Munson (Swarthmore) and Alex Gottesman (Temple), Jeffrey Green (Penn), and Melissa Lane (Princeton).
  • *October 30, November 6, and November 13 – Bonnie Honig, Flexner Lectures at Bryn Mawr*
  • December 5 – Jonny Thakkar, Swarthmore (Swarthmore College)
  • Thursday, Feb 1 – Ali Aslam (Mount Holyoke College)
  • Tuesday, Feb 13 – Craig Borowiak (Haverford)
  • Thursday, March 8 – Shatema Threadcraft (Princeton IAS / Dartmouth College)
  • Tuesday, March 20 – Tom Donahue (Haverford)
  • Tuesday, April 3 – Jeremy Arnold (National University of Singapore)
  • Tuesday, April 17 – Luke MacInnis (Columbia University)

2016 - 2017 Schedule

  • September 20: Danielle Hanley, University of Pennsylvania
  • October 4: Stuart Murray, Carleton University
  • October 18: Jeanne Morefield, Whitman College
  • November 1: Joshua Simon, Columbia University
  • November 15: Loren Goldman, University of Pennsylvania
  • December 6: Loubna El Amine, Northwestern University
  • February 2: Antonio Vazquez Arroyo, Rutgers University
  • February 14: Molly Farneth, Haverford College
  • February 28: Jennifer Forestal, Stockton University
  • March 23: Elizabeth Cohen, Syracuse University
  • April 4: Osman Balkan, Swarthmore College

2015 - 2016 Schedule

  • September 22: Steve Salkever, Bryn Mawr College
  • October 6: Jeffrey Green, University of Pennsylvania
  • December 1: George Ciccariello-Maher, Drexel University
  • February 4: Sonali Chakravarti, Wesleyan University
  • February 16: Jeremy Elkins, Bryn Mawr College
  • February 23: Heath Fogg-Davis, Temple University
  • March 3: Arlene Saxonhouse, University of Michigan
  • March 15: David Ciepley, University of Denver
  • March 29: Roy Ben-Shai, Haverford College
  • April 12: Claudio Lopez-Guerra, CIDE Mexico City
  • April 19: Susan Liebell, Saint Joseph’s University 

All workshops will begin at 4:30 p.m. and run until roughly 6:15 p.m. For those new to the workshop, papers will be circulated at least one week before our meeting. Workshop participants should read the paper and come ready to discuss. Presenters will begin with a few remarks at the beginning of the meeting but we try to reserve the vast majority of our time for discussion.