awards Headlines

View all

  • Headshot of Alexandra Corcoran '19

    The political science and Spanish double major is the sole recipient of the University College Dublin Taught Master’s Program Award, which she’ll use to study philosophy and public affairs.

  • Headshot of Ellis Maxwell in the Haverfarm greenhouse

    The English major is one of 262 students from 39 states, three countries, and Washington, D.C., who are part of the 2019 cohort of the fellowship, which provides a year of learning and networking opportunities emphasizing personal, professional, and civic growth.

  • Headshot of Danielle Jacobsen on campus

    The biology major from Sunnyvale, Calif., will spend next year at the University of Oslo in Norway, researching a toxic polypeptide associated with ALS and Frontotemporal Dementia in a cellular model.  

  • Headshot of Maurice Rippel

    The English major will spend the year after his Haverford graduation traveling to four continents to explore communities through their barbershops thanks to the $30,000 award.

  • Karl Johnson in his lab

    The Professor of Biology and Coordinator of the Concentration in Biochemistry and Biophysics has been awarded a $211,536 grant from the National Institutes of Health for his research on Chlamydomonas, a single-celled model organism that provides insight into the cell biology of many eukaryotes, including humans.

  • Headshots of the five Fulbright winners

    Five recent graduates earned 2018–2019 Fulbright Student Awards.

  • Nobel laureate George P. Smith is mobbed by selfie seekers at an event at the University of Missouri

    Smith, one of three Nobel laureates in chemistry this year, is the fourth Haverford College alum to win a Nobel Prize and the second—after Joseph Taylor, Jr.—from the Class of 1963.

  • Headshot of Bruce Partridge

    The emeritus professor of astronomy was part of an international crew of scientists recognized with one of the most prestigious awards in cosmology for their work on the Planck mission.

  • The assistant professor of chemistry is part of a team awarded $75,000 from the National Science Foundation to fund a new educational initiative that will prepare students in STEM fields to persevere through challenges and failures in the classroom and lab.  

  • Russell, who has spent the past few years as the managing artistic director of the Allentown Public Theatre, will further her theater studies at the Universität Gießen in Germany.

  • Ken Ruto in the VCAM Maker Space

    The computer science major received $25,000 to support the development of Flux, a smart water meter designed to improve water systems in his home country of Kenya.

  • Julian Schneider portrait

    The philosophy and political science double major, who is currently pursuing an M.A. in nationalism studies at Hungary's Central European University, will spend next year at Kent Law School's master's in law program in the U.K.

  • The six new Haverford House fellows

    Sabea Evans, Callie Kennedy, Claire Michel, TJ von Oehsen, Sara Ozawa, and Jason Sanchez will spend next year working at Philadelphia nonprofits and strengthening connections between the College and the city.

  • Founders cupola

    Noah Bloch '16, Jonathan DeWitt '16, Grace Klinges '15, Lindsey Lopes '16, and Katie Ulrich '14 all received fellowships from the National Science Foundation that will support their graduate education and research.

  • Black-and-white headshot of Nicholson Baker and a portrait of Anya Krugovoy Silver wearing a colorful headwrap

    Nicholson Baker ’79 and Anya Krugovoy Silver ’90 were honored with a grant from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation to support their independent writing projects.