The Search for the Next President

Consistent with plans announced last spring, Kim Benston will conclude his presidential service June 30, 2019, and return to the classroom. The College is conducting a search for Haverford's 16th president.

Overhead shot of Founders Hall

General Information

Haverford College seeks a president whose values and personal commitments align deeply with those encapsulated by Haverford’s mission and Quaker traditions and embodied by its community. This individual must not only be an outstanding and thoughtful leader, but a true fit with Haverford and the qualities that make it unique among comparable liberal arts institutions.

Evaluation of candidate materials will begin immediately and continue until a new president is named. The expected start date for this opportunity is July 1, 2019. The College is being assisted by the national executive search firm Storbeck/Pimentel & Associates.

Search Committee Members

  • Cynthia Archer, Bryn Mawr College Board of Trustees
  • Charles Beever ‘74, Board of Managers and Alumni Association, Search Committee Chair
  • Seth Bernstein ‘84, Board of Managers
  • Amy Taylor Brooks ’92, Board of Managers and Corporation
  • Anjan Chatterjee ‘80, Board of Managers and Corporation
  • Ginny Christensen, Board of Managers and Corporation
  • Claudia Hammerman ‘87, Board of Managers and Alumni Association
  • Roger Kafker ‘84, Board of Managers
  • Ben Le, faculty
  • Emily Lin ‘20, student
  • Laura McGrane, faculty
  • Jenn O’Donnell, staff
  • Hunter Rawlings ‘66, Board of Managers Emeritus
  • Maurice Rippel ‘19, student
  • Helen White, faculty
  • Rick White ‘81, Board of Managers
  • Charles Young, staff


Not more learned, but imbued with better learning


Nominations and letters of interest with a curriculum vitae may be sent in confidence to:

Shelly Weiss Storbeck, Managing Partner
Anne Koellhoffer, Senior Associate


Jesse Lytle, Vice President & Chief of Staff
(610) 896-1130