Medical College Admission Test (MCAT) - 2015

The Medical College Admission Test (MCAT) is the standardized test required for admission by medical schools. The MCAT is a computer-based test that is offered several times per year at testing centers throughout the United States.

Content Coverage

Reflecting the suggested changes to medical education, beginning in 2015, the MCAT will have four sections, each with a separate score:

  1. Biological and Biochemical Foundations of Living Systems
  2. Chemical and Physical Foundations of Biological Systems
  3. Psychological, Social and Biological Foundations of Behavior
  4. Critical Analysis and Reasoning Skills

The 2015 MCAT will still include many concepts and topics covered in general chemistry, organic chemistry, introductory biology, and introductory physics courses; in addition it will incorporate topics from biochemistry and will require the understanding of basic statistical principles to solve problems and analyze data. The section entitled "Psychological, Social, and Biological Foundations of Behavior" will incorporate concepts in psychology, biology, and sociology that medical schools consider to be fundamental for learning about the behavioral and socio-cultural determinants of health. It will also include general concepts from the behavioral sciences.

The AAMC's MCAT 2015 for Students website offers additional information.