For information about Web accessibility, please contact the Webmaster at webmaster@haverford.edu.

Haverford College
Departments of Physics and Astronomy
header imageheader imageheader imageheader imageheader imageheader imageheader imageheader image

Faculty

Laboratory & Research SupportOn Long-Term LeaveEmeritus FacultyAdministrative SupportAffiliate FacultyFormer Faculty

Suzanne Amador Kane

Suzanne Amador Kane

Associate Professor

Biophysics
Condensed Matter Physics

Office: KINSC L103
Email: samador@haverford.edu

Profile | Homepage

Stephen Boughn

Stephen P. Boughn

John Farnum Professor of Astronomy

Gravitation, Cosmology, and Extragalactic Astronomy

Office: Observatory
Email: sboughn@haverford.edu

Profile | Homepage

Daniel Cross

Visiting Assistant Professor of Physics

Topological Properties of Chaotic Dynamical Systems, Mathematical Physics.

Office: KINSC L107
Email: dcross@haverford.edu

Profile | Homepage

Peter Love

Peter J. Love

Associate Professor

Theoretical and Computational Physics

Office: KINSC L105
Email: plove@haverford.edu

Profile | Homepage

Desika Narayanan

Desika Narayanan

Assistant Professor

Galaxy formation and evolution, star formation, and the physics of the interstellar medium

Office: Observatory
Email: dnarayan@haverford.edu

Profile | Homepage

Kerstin Perez

Assistant Professor

Particle astrophysics searches for dark matter

Email: kperez1@haverford.edu

Profile

Joseph Ochoa

Joseph Ochoa

Visiting Assistant Professor of Physics

Theoretical Cosmology, Quantum Gravity Phenomenology

Office: KINSC L102
Email: jochoa@haverford.edu

Profile

Walter Smith

Walter F. Smith

Professor, Department Chair

Nanoscale Physics, Biophysics

Office: KINSC L110
Email: wsmith@haverford.edu

Profile | Homepage

Beth William

Beth Willman

Assistant Professor of Astronomy

Computational and Observational Astrophysics, Near-Field Cosmology

Office: Observatory
Email: bwillman@haverford.edu

Profile | Homepage

Laboratory & Research Support

John Bochanski

John Bochanski

Postdoctoral Scholar

Low-mass stars and Galactic structure

Email: jbochans@haverford.edu

Homepage

George Cardoso

Physics Laboratory Instructor

Email: gcardoso@haverford.edu

Jonathan Hargis

Sr. Research Assoc. in Astronomy

Galaxy formation and evolution, stellar populations

Email: jhargis@haverford.edu

On Long-Term Leave

Stephon Alexander

Stephon H. S. Alexander

Associate Professor (on leave of absence 2012-2014)

Theoretical cosmology, quantum gravity and particle physics

Office: KINSC L106
Email: salexand@haverford.edu

Profile

Emeritus Faculty

Jerry Gollub

Jerry P. Gollub

John and Barbara Bush Professor in the Natural Sciences (on leave, 2012-2013)

Nonlinear Physics, Fluid Dynamics

Office: KINSC L109
Email: jgollub@haverford.edu

Profile | Homepage

R. Bruce Partridge

R. Bruce Partridge

Bettye and Howard Marshall Professor of Natural Sciences

Observational Cosmology

Office: KINSC L108
Email: bpartrid@haverford.edu

Homepage

Administrative Support

KINSC Contact information

Affiliate Faculty

Bryn Mawr Physics faculty

Peter Beckmann
Mark Matlin
Elizabeth McCormack
Michael Noel
Michael Schulz
James Battat
Xuemei May Cheng

Chemistry Department & Materials Science

Alexander Norquist
Joshua Schrier

Biochemistry and Biophysics Concentration

Karin Akerfeldt, Chemistry
Robert Fairman, Biology
Casey Londergan, Chemistry
Robert Scarrow, Chemistry
Robert Manning, Mathematics
Jonathan Wilson, Biology