For information about Web accessibility, please contact the Webmaster at

Haverford College

Photo Info


Share | Print Friendly and PDF

Winners of Classics Department Academic Prizes Announced

The Haverford Department of Classics is pleased to recognize the winners of this year's Departmental awards for excellence in Greek, Latin, and Classical Studies.

The William K. Baker Prize in Greek: Asher J. Reisman, class of 2011

The Howard Comfort Prize in Latin: Alexander J. Lopatin, class of 2011

The Class of 1896 Prize in Latin for Sophomores: Matthew S. Liscovitz, class of 2013

The Class of 1902 Prize in Latin for Freshmen: Gabriel J. Reale, class of 2014

The Mark L.Hepps Memorial Prize for Diligence in the Study of Elementary Latin: Gavriella A. Fried, class of 2014, and Harris S. Rothman, class of 2014

The Daniel Gillis and Joseph Russo Prize for the Best Essay in Classical Studies:  Alexander J. Lopatin, class of 2011

The Strawbridge Observatory at Haverford College houses 12-inch and 16-inch Schmidt-Cassegrain telescopes which are actively used by students in Haverford astronomy classes.

Return to Site