.......About Emma J. Lapsansky.....

 

...I am a shy sort of person, full of contrasts. ..sometimes described as a "gregarious recluse"--often have houseguests and dinner parties, but enjoy long stretches of solitude...can be near-silent for weeks, then have fits of non-stop talking...

I live on the banks of Darby Creek, in Delaware County Pennsylvania, near

Philadelphia, adjacent to a bird sanctuary; it's very dramatic there in winter

 

I am a "convinced" (read "converted") member of the Religious Society of Friends (read "Quakers"), coming to this by way of my Methodist-minister grandfather, who told me that heaven and hell are not in an afterlife, but rather states-of-being we create on earth by our actions here: I have met a great number of Friends who have been convincing models of this...

I am the mother of three children--two of whom, graduates of Wesleyan University (JJ, '92 and Nette,'94) now live in southern California...

I like to sing, have a tolerable voice, play an amateur folk guitar and a poor European-classical piano, (have an old Victorian upright ) and I am enthusiastic about dance from all over the world, all across time

I have several dozen house-plants, some of which are more than a quarter-century old, and a 15-year-old cat

I like to travel--especially alone by car; have spent at least one night in 48 of the 50 states and on 4 continents, but got as far south as the equator only in October 1996, on a trip to Kenya.I aim to get to get to the other continents in the next couple of years...

I like to spend as much time as possible by an ocean

I like to play around with photography--keep a photographic family journal that begins in the late nineteenth century with my paternal grandmother, my maternal great-grandfather, and maternal great-grandmother, and includes my maternal grandfather, posed with his new Chevy, ca. 1920, my own mother (she's the five-year-old standing with her family in Clarksburg, MD), who also likes the ocean (this one is 1989, in New Jersey), and my father, as a young man, ca. 1910

I'm part of a big family, that has frequent reunions

I like to cook, bake a great peach pie, like Mediterranean and Afro-Asian food

I'm pretty happy with my needlework skills, once combined history-with-theatre to be costume-designer for a summer Shakespeare theatre. Here you can see my daughter, wearing the dress I created for the prom last year. That's my 88-year-old mother sitting next to her.

I had a lot of fun driving 10,000 miles through the US in 1989, pasting state stickers on the back of my Subaru to commemorate each state where I stayed, visiting with my brother-in-law in northern California, and having my photo taken in South Dakota, at the geographic center of the country


Return to Lapsansky Home Page.

Return to Haverford College Home Page.

This page updated 1/26/97.