For information about Web accessibility, please contact the Webmaster at webmaster@haverford.edu.

Haverford College
Department of History

Faculty

Faculty in the department represent a wide range of approaches to history and specialize in diverse geographic regions and periods. This diversity allows us both to focus on specific histories — regional, national, cultural — and to foster comparative approaches that explore the related historical processes across space and time.


afriedman_85

Andrew Friedman

Assistant Professor of History

International History of the United States

Office: Hall 209
Phone: 610.795.7964
Email: afriedma@haverford.edu

Profile   |   Homepage

gerstein_85

Linda Gerstein

Professor of History and Chair of Independent College Programs

Russian and Modern European History

Office: Hall 102
Phone: 610.896.1062
Email: lgerstei@haverford.edu

Profile   |   Homepage

Lisa Jane Graham

Frank A. Kafker Professor of History

Early-Modern French and European History

Office: Hall 212
Phone: 610.896.1073
Email: lgraham@haverford.edu

Profile   |   Homepage

Darin Hayton

Associate Professor of the History of Science

History of Science

Office: Hall 103
Phone: 610.896.4976
Email: dhayton@haverford.edu

Profile   |   Homepage

Alexander Kitroeff

Associate Professor of History

History of Nationalism and Ethnicity in Europe

Office: Hall 004
Phone: 610.896.1051
Email: akitroef@haverford.edu

Profile  |   Homepage

James Krippner

Professor of History

Mexico and Latin American History

Office: Hall 215
Phone: 610.896.1049
Email: jkrippne@haverford.edu

Profile   |   Homepage

Bethel Saler

Associate Professor of History
Department Chair

Early American History and History of the West

Office: Hall 203
Phone: 610.896.1060
Email: bsaler@haverford.edu

Profile   |   Homepage

Paul Jakov Smith

Professor of History and East Asian Studies, John R. Coleman Professor of Social Sciences

Chinese, East Asian, and Comparative History

Office: Hall 208
Phone: 610.896.1068
Email: psmith@haverford.edu

Profile   |   Homepage

Emeritus Faculty

Paul Jefferson

Associate Professor Emeritus of History

Modern American and African American Intellectual History

Office: 1 College Lane, #1
Phone: 610.649.7841
Email: faculty@haverford.edu

Profile   |   Homepage

Roger Lane

Professor Emeritus of Social Sciences

Office: 707 College Avenue
Phone: 610.649.0556
Email: rlane@haverford.edu

Profile   |   Homepage

Emma Lapsansky-Werner

Professor Emeritus of History

Office: Magill Library
Phone: 610.896.1274
Email: elapsans@haverford.edu

Profile   |   Homepage

sstuard_85

Susan M. Stuard

Professor Emeritus

Office: Special Collections, Magill Library
Phone: 610.896.2904
Email: sstuard@haverford.edu

Profile   |   Homepage