For information about Web accessibility, please contact the Webmaster at

Haverford College
Department of English

Requirements for Honors

Honors in English are awarded on the basis of performance in course work within the tri-college departments, the Senior Essay, and the oral examination conducted at the end of the senior year. High Honors are reserved for distinguished achievement in all three of these areas.

The department awards three prizes annually:

The Terry M. Krieger '69 Memorial Prize: Established by members of his family for the graduating senior demonstrating the greatest achievement in writing during the junior and senior years, to be chosen by the English department.

Newton Prize in English Literature: A prize established by A. Edward Newton may be awarded annually on the basis of Departmental Honors in English, provided that the work of the leading candidate, in the judgment of the English department, merits this award.

William Ellis Scull Prize: A prize established in 1929 by William Ellis Scull, Class of 1883, is awarded annually to the junior or senior who has shown the greatest achievement in voice and in the articulation of the English language.

Ian Walker Prize: A prize established in 2002, by friends, family and classmates as a memorial to honor Ian Walker, class of 1950. This prize is awarded to either a Junior or Senior English Major.