For information about Web accessibility, please contact the Webmaster at webmaster@haverford.edu.

Haverford College

Sophomore Year Experience

Sophomore Year Experience: Departmental Peer Advisors

A New Resource for Sophomores

There are a variety of sources of information about the various academic departments and the major programs within each department. These include, but are not limited to: departmental faculty, student majors, department web sites, and the Haverford College Catalog. We urge you to use all of the resources at your disposal.

That said, it has been suggested that some students might prefer or find it easier to have a first conversation with a fellow student about a particular department and the major. Intended to supplement, but not supplant, the information sources noted above, a new program, designed expressly for sophomores, has been put into place: Departmental Peer Advisors. These are junior or senior majors who have been selected by their respective departments to serve as peer sources of information about the department, the major program and its requirements, and the major experience.

Departmental Peer Advisors

Name and contact information for the peer advisor(s) in the fields in which you may wish to major:

Department Name & Class Year Email Address
Astronomy Megan Bedell '12 mbedell@haverford.edu
Astronomy Andrew Sturner '12 asturner@haverford.edu
Astrophysics Maya Barlev '12 mbarlev@haverford.edu
Astrophysics Erin Boettcher '12 eboettch@haverford.edu
Biology Jamie Croucher '12 jcrouche@haverford.edu
Biology Alexa-Rae Pesce '12 apesce@haverford.edu
Biology Faraz Sohail '12 fsohail@haverford.edu
Biology James Taggart '13 jtaggart@haverford.edu
Biology Liz Willis '13 ewillis@haverford.edu
Chemistry Anna Brockway '12 abrockwa@haverford.edu
Chemistry Sara Hess '13 shess@haverford.edu
Chemistry Jacob Olshansky '12 jolshans@haverford.edu
Chemistry Greg Whitehill '13 gwhitehi@haverford.edu
Classics Jacob Horn '13 jlhorn@haverford.edu
Classics Matt Liscovitz '13 mliscovi@haverford.edu
Comparative Literature Jacob Horn '13 jlhorn@haverford.edu
Computer Science Rose Abernathy '13 rabernat@haverford.edu
Computer Science Ian Burnette '12 iburnett@haverford.edu
East Asian Studies Chris Tyson '13 ctyson@haverford.edu
Economics Stephen Lazzaro '13 slazzaro@haverford.edu
Economics Eli Schwarz '13 eschwarz@haverford.edu
English Natasha Cohen-Carroll '13 ncohenca@haverford.edu
English Emmett Culhane '13 eculhane@haverford.edu
English Noelia Hobeika '13 nhobeika@haverford.edu
English David Whitcomb '13 dwhitcom@haverford.edu
Fine Arts Jon Appel '12 jappel@haverford.edu
Fine Arts Christine Sanchez '12 csanchez@haverford.edu
French Arielle Harris '13 aharris@haverford.edu
German Mary Lane '12 mlane@haverford.edu
German Kim McPhearson Wegel '12 kmcphear@haverford.edu
History Emily Bailinson '13 ebailins@haverford.edu
History Lizzy Douglas '13 edouglas@haverford.edu
History Karl Hagnauer '13 khagnaue@haverford.edu
History Alex Tonsing '13 atonsing@haverford.edu
Linguistics Andy Jenness '12 ajenness@haverford.edu
Linguistics Rebecca Knowles '12 rknowles@haverford.edu
Mathematics Katie Comey '12 kcomey@haverford.edu
Mathematics Emma Sawin '13 esawin@haverford.edu
Mathematics Josh Weiss '12 jweiss@haverford.edu
Mathematics Matt Mazewski mmazewsk@haverford.edu
Music Jonathan Colvson '12 jcolvson@haverford.edu
Philosophy Nazzi Soroush '13 nsoroush@haverford.edu
Philosophy Robert Thorstad '12 rthorsta@haverford.edu
Philosophy Lizzy Wingfield '12 ewingfie@haverford.edu
Physics Katie Van Aken '12 kvanaken@haverford.edu
Physics Quentin Sherman '12 qsherman@haverford.edu
Political Science Dan Salem '13 dsalem@haverford.edu
Political Science Hannah Solomon-Strauss '12 hsolomon@haverford.edu
Psychology Emily Dix '12 edix@haverford.edu
Psychology Ben Van Son '13 bvanson@haverford.edu
Religion Pauline Dunoyer '13 pdunoyer@haverford.edu
Religion Michael Riccio '13 mriccio@haverford.edu
Sociology Dan Ikeda '13 dikeda@haverford.edu
Sociology Michael Riccio '13 mriccio@haverford.edu
Spanish Ivana Evans '12 ievans@haverford.edu
Spanish Annelise Herskowitz '12 aherskow@haverford.edu
Spanish Olivia Swomley '12 oswomley@haverford.edu