For information about Web accessibility, please contact the Webmaster at webmaster@haverford.edu.

Haverford College
Department of Chemistry

Faculty

Karin Åkerfeldt, Chair and Professor

Bioorganic Chemistry: peptides and proteins, natural and designed
Profile   |   Homepage  |   Office: KINSC E214B   |   Email: kakerfel@haverford.edu

Rob Scarrow, Professor

Bioinorganic Chemistry: understanding and mimicking metals in enzymes.
Profile   |   Homepage   |   Office: KINSC E214D  |  Email: rscarrow@haverford.edu |  Phone: 896-1218 (area code 610)

Frances Rose Blase, Associate Professor

Synthetic Organic Chemistry: synthesis of medically-relevant natural products.
Profile
  |   Homepage   |   Office: KINSC E214C   |   Email: fblase@haverford.edu

Louise Charkoudian, Assistant Professor

Biological Organic Chemistry: bacterial synthesis of drugs and drug precursors.
Profile
  |   Homepage   |   Office: KINSC E214A   |   Email: lcharkou@haverford.edu |  Phone: 896-2994 (area code 610)

Casey Londergan, Associate Professor

Biophysical Chemistry: observing protein dynamics by vibrational spectroscopy.
Profile   |   Homepage   |   Office: KINSC E304B   |   Email: clonderg@haverford.edu

Alexander Norquist, Associate Professor

Materials Chemistry: crystal growth of organically templated transition metal oxides.
Profile  |   Homepage   |  Office: KINSC E304C   |   Email: anorquis@haverford.edu

Joshua Schrier, Assistant Professor

Computational and Theoretical Chemistry: properties of nanostructures and applications for photovoltaic devices.
Profile   |   Homepage   |   Office: KINSC E304A   |   Email: jschrier@haverford.edu

Helen White, Assistant Professor

Environmental Chemistry; investigating sources, sinks and cycling of organic compounds in the environment.
Profile   |   Homepage   |   Office: KINSC E303   |   Email: hwhite@haverford.edu

Eric Holowka, Visiting Assistant Professor

Bioorganic Chemistry
Profile   |   Office: KINSC H007   |  Email: eholowka@haverford.edu

Katharine Prokop-Prigge, Visiting Assistant Professor


Office: KINSC E214D    |  Email: kprokoppri@haverford.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Colin MacKay, Professor Emeritus

Email: cmackay@haverford.edu   |   Homepage

Claude Wintner, Professor Emeritus

Email: cwintner@haverford.edu,   |   Homepage

Terry Newirth, Professor Emeritus

Organic Chemistry: mechanistic chemistry related to food science.
Profile   |   Homepage   |  Email: tnewirth@haverford.edu

Administrative Support Staff

Victoria Algieri

Office: KINSC L204    |   Email: kinsc@haverford.edu | Phone: 896-1187 (area code 610)

Laboratory Instructors and Support Staff

Bruce Boyes, Research Machinist and Instrument Maker

Office: KINSC E013    |   Email: bboyes@haverford.edu

Joanne Brown, Purchasing and Budget Coordinator

Office: KINSC L303    |   Email: jcbrown@haverford.edu   |  Homepage | Phone: 896-1326 (area code 610)

Kathy Dostal, Instruction Laboratory Supervisor

Office: KINSC E306   |   Email: kdostal@haverford.edu

Daniel Fabry, Instrument Specialist

Office: KINSC L304   |   Email: dfabry@haverford.edu

Michael Kukla, Chemistry 225 Laboratory Instructor

Office: KINSC E308   |   Email: mkukla@haverford.edu 

Kelly Matz, Chemistry 111 and 112 Laboratory Instructor

Office: KINSC E306   |   Email: kmatz@haverford.edu 

Mark Stein, Chemistry 222 Laboratory Instructor

Office: KINSC E308   |   Email: mstein@haverford.edu